Widlitz Named to School Safety Task Force Subgroup; Hearings to Begin Today

State Rep. Patricia Widlitz, Democratic state representative from Branford and Guilford, will sit on the school safety panel. Hearings are scheduled starting today, Friday, Jan. 25.


State Rep. Patricia Widlitz (D-98th), who represents Guilford and Branford, has been named to the school safety subgroup of the state legislature's bipartisan task force on gun violence prevention and children's safety.

The task force, which is charged with formulating recommendations designed to reduce gun violence, enhance school safety and increase access to mental health care, also announced a series of public hearings. The following hearings are scheduled for Room 2C at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford:

  • School safety, Jan. 25, 9:30 a.m.
  • Gun safety, Jan. 28 at 10 a.m.
  • Mental-health issues, Jan. 29 at 10 a.m.

A fourth public hearing will be held by the task force at Newtown High School on Jan. 30 at 6 p.m.

Here are the rest of the subgroup appointments:

Gun Violence

  • Sen. Martin Looney (D—Hamden, North Haven, New Haven), Co-chair
  • Rep. Craig Miner (R—Bethlehem, Litchfield, Morris, Warren, Woodbury), Co-chair
  • Rep. Gerald Fox III (D—Stamford)
  • Rep. Stephen Dargan (D—West Haven)
  • Rep. Bob Godfrey (D—Danbury)
  • Rep. Toni Walker (D—New Haven)
  • Rep. Rosa Rebimbas (R—Naugatuck)
  • Rep. Janice Giegler (R—Danbury, New Fairfield, Ridgefield)
  • Rep. Dan Carter (R—Bethel, Danbury, Newtown, Redding)
  • Sen. Eric Coleman (D—Bloomfield, Hartford, Windsor)
  • Sen. John Fonfara (D—Hartford, Wethersfield)
  • Sen. Joan Hartley (D—Middlebury, Naugatuck, Waterbury)
  • Sen. John Kissel (R—East Granby, Granby, Enfield, Somers, Suffield, Windsor, Windsor Locks)
  • Sen. Scott Frantz (R—Greenwich, New Canaan, Stamford)
  • Sen. Tony Guglielmo (R—Ashford, Chaplin, Coventry, Eastford, Ellington, Hampton, Pomfret, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Willington, Woodstock)
  • Sen. Kevin Witkos (Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, Granby, Hartland, Harwinton, New Hartford, Norfolk, Simsbury, Torrington)

School Safety

  • Rep. Andrew Fleischmann, Co-chair (D—West Hartford)
  • Sen. Toni Boucher, Co-chair (New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, Wilton)
  • Rep. Roberta Willis (D—Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Norfolk, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington)
  • Rep. Patricia Widlitz (D—Branford, Guilford)
  • Rep. Diana Urban (D—Stonington, North Stonington)
  • Rep. Tim Ackert (R—Columbia, Coventry, Tolland, Vernon)
  • Rep. Tim LeGeyt (R—Avon, Canton)
  • Rep. Whit Betts (R—Bristol, Plymouth)
  • Rep. Mitch Bolinsky (R—Newtown)
  • Sen. Dante Bartolomeo (D—Cheshire, Meriden, Middlefield, Middletown)
  • Sen. Andrea Stillman (D—Bozrah, East Lyme, Montville, New London, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Salem, Waterford)
  • Sen. Beth Bye (D—Bloomfield, Burlington, Farmington, West Hartford)
  • Sen. Andrew Maynard (D—Griswold, Groton, North Stonington, Plainfield, Preston, Sterling, Stonington, Voluntown)
  • Sen. Art Linares (R—Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland, Westbrook)
  • Sen. Mike McLachlan (R—Bethel, Danbury, New Fairfield, Sherman)
  • Sen. Kevin Witkos (R—Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, Granby, Hartland, Harwinton, New Hartford, Norfolk, Simsbury, Torrington)

Mental Health

  • Sen. Toni Harp, Co-chair (D—New Haven, West Haven)
  • Rep. Terrie Wood, Co-chair (R—Darien, Norwalk)
  • Rep. Susan Johnson (D—Windham)
  • Rep. Cathy Abercrombie (D—Berlin, Meriden)
  • Rep. Robert Megna (D—New Haven)
  • Rep. Betsy Ritter (D—Montville, Waterford)
  • Rep. Prasad Srinivasan (R—Glastonbury)
  • Rep. DebraLee Hovey (R—Monroe, Newtown)
  • Sen. Terry Gerratana (D—Berlin, Farmington, New Britain)
  • Sen. Gayle Slossberg (D—Milford, Orange, West Haven, Woodbridge)
  • Sen. Joe Crisco (D—Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Hamden, Naugatuck, Woodbridge)
  • Sen. Rob Kane (R—Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Middlebury, Oxford, Roxbury, Seymour, Southbury, Washington, Watertown, Woodbury)
  • Sen. Kevin Kelly (R—Monroe, Seymour, Shelton, Stratford)
  • Sen. Joe Markley (R—Cheshire, Prospect, Southington, Waterbury, Wolcott)
  • Sen. Jason Welch (R—Bristol, Harwinton, Plainville, Plymouth, Thomaston)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »